The Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA) shut down its activities in December 2020 at the end of its mandate. The administrative closure of the Centre was completed in November 2021.
Leading image
Apr 10

Brussels Briefing 50: “Growing food in the cities: Successes and new opportunities”


Brussels Briefing 50: “Growing food in the cities: Successes and new opportunities”

Event Overview

Rapid urbanisation in Africa, the Caribbean and the Pacific is leading to dramatic growth in the demand for food. This demographic trend puts significant pressures on urban food systems, but also presents new opportunities for communities and agribusinesses to grow more food locally.

Innovations such as hydroponics and vertical farming are being adapted and adopted by entrepreneurs to better fit the local conditions, and in turn, creating new employment avenues for women and youth. Policymakers and city governments are supporting community gardens as a measure to improve food and nutrition security in urban areas. This Briefing brings together a range of experts, policymakers, producers and entrepreneurs at the forefront of urban agriculture in ACP countries to explore the latest trends, challenges and opportunities in urban farming.

Social Reporters

Lebo Mofolo

Jr. Programme Associate Policy Briefings


  • Mofolo, Lebo

    Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA)



  • CTA

    The Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation (CTA) is a joint international institution of the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) Group of States and the European Union (EU). Its mission is to advance food security, resilience and inclusive economic growth in Africa, the Caribbean and the Pacific through innovations in sustainable agriculture. CTA operates under the framework of the Cotonou Agreement and is funded by the EU.


    The Commission's Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development (DG DEVCO) is responsible for designing European international cooperation and development policy and delivering aid throughout the world. DG DEVCO is in charge of development cooperation policy in a wider framework of international cooperation, adapting to the evolving needs of partner countries. This encompasses cooperation with developing countries at different stages of development, including with countries graduated from bilateral development assistance to cover the specific needs of these countries during the transition period between low-income countries and upper middle-income countries. DG DEVCO works closely with other Commission services responsible for thematic policies, as well as with the European External Action Service and Commission services on external action, so as to facilitate and help ensure a consistent approach.

  • ACP

    The African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP) is an organisation created by the Georgetown Agreement in 1975. It is composed of 79 African, Caribbean and Pacific states, with all of them, save Cuba, signatories to the Cotonou Agreement, also known as the "ACP-EC Partnership Agreement" which binds them to the European Union. There are 48 countries from Sub-Saharan Africa, 16 from the Caribbean and 15 from the Pacific. The Secretariat is responsible for the administrative management of the ACP Group. It assists the Group's decision-making and advisory organs in carrying out their work. The ACP Secretariat's headquarters is located in Brussels (Belgium). It is headed by an Executive Secretary-General who is responsible for implementing the Group's international policy, as well as directing and coordinating its cooperation policy.


    CONCORD is the European confederation of Relief and Development NGOs. We are made up of member organisations: 28 national associations, 20 international networks and 3 associate members that represent over 2,600 NGOs, supported by millions of citizens across Europe. CONCORD is the main interlocutor with the EU institutions on development policy.